Fat to Fit · Marathon · Running · Running with Asthma · weightloss

How to get Running…….

The challenge of getting out of the door is one that all runners face but for those of us that are slightly on the heavier side (The Porky Plodders) there are so many unseen battles to even get out of the door! 

img_1787

There are a million reasons not to go and I’ve heard them all! 

  • My shorts look like they are cutting the circulation off of my top half and my muffin top is more like a avalanche of blubber sliding over my hips
  • even if I breathe in really hard my pot belly pokes out like I’ve just headed 4 litres of Chocolate Milk
  • I can’t tell where my calves end and my ankles start
  • I jog on the spot and not one part of me stays still, I feel like a jelly on a vibration plate
  • I breathe like Darth Vader when I exercise and I’m worried I will scare passers by or even people in their front room eating dinner I’m so loud
  • My feet slap like a Scuba Diver flopping around on dry land
  • People will laugh at me and point and make silly twat comments
  • What’s the point it’s Two for Tuesday at Domino’s
  • It’s only 150 calories a mile – that’s not even a Bag of Dorito’s Cool Original and I eat 6 Bags for fun! 

Of course some of these things are a challenge but for every challenge there is someone out there who has overcome the challenge and pushed ahead! From personal experience and from reading other people’s stories these are my 10 Steps for my fellow Porky Plodders!

  1. Buy new running clothes, making sure they are nice and loose and you feel as good as you can. Always motivating to know you look good when you go out there and the added guilt trip that you’ve spent money on this kit and don’t wanna waste it! I’m always excited to wear a new bit of kit! One mistake I always made was getting slightly tight tops and thinking I would shrink into them, but it’s demoralising if you have a slip up or an injury and don’t start losing weight so stick to larger clothes! That way you can earn your new kit! 
  2. Ignore the haters! Hard as it is you must remember that you are doing something about your weight and trying to do something positive! Nobody ever knows where you started from and where you’ve been or how you’ve got there, so just be nice to people! Being nice is free! I remember people shouting comments at me when I ran before (mainly kids) but what can you do. Ignore them and power on (maybe with a little 🖕). Remember this is for you and not for anyone else!
  3. Follow / Add other runners on social media! The motivation you get from the running community is awesome! There are so many cool stories out there and fantastic characters and the Drive and motivation of these guys is infectious! On those Dark, Cold evenings any little helping hand is great! And the other way round works too! I want to help others and motivate anyone so when I feel I don’t want to run or exercise I think that by getting out there maybe I can help someone else get out there too! 
  4. Earn your treats! Work hard, recover hard! I’m not saying destroy a Domino’s after every run, but give yourself targets, give yourself treats! (Build Up Bagel from Leanin15 is a winner treat after a run!)img_1812Remember that this is a way of life, a lifestyle choice that you want to make permanent and not allowing yourself little treats can take the fun out of it and you will fall off the path (basically I’ve fallen off the path more times than you will believe so I know all the slippery slopes).
  5. Take it slow – Don’t start pushing yourself too hard too quick, ease yourself into it and enjoy it. It’s not about pace at the start, that can come later. Just get the miles in and enjoy it.   Being overweight means you are prone to injury! Don’t fall at the first hurdle by trying to run 50 miles in your first week and getting injured.
  6. Variety – so important to do different types of runs and run at different paces. I try to do 4 runs a week – 1 long slow, 1 Interval, 1 recover and 1 tempo / steady. I mix them up too, some weeks I will do a Park Run instead of my long run who knows! That’s how Craaaaazy you can be!
  7. Be ready to bore your friends! Runners talk about running……a lot! Haha! But why not? Embrace it, read about it, share it! All helps! And some of your friends may even join your gang! 
  8. Run with others if you can! Join a running club, go to Nike Running Club nights, run with mates. There is no such thing as too slow, don’t be embarrassed these clubs cater for all skill levels and you will meet like minded people! And some Craaaaaaaaazy Loons as well! 
  9. Plan! Plan your training, get an idea of what days you will run and as you are getting into it, but don’t put too much pressure on yourself……..just go with the flow. One run doesn’t make a runner, it’s months of graft. So if you have a shit day, have a break take a rest and re-focus for the next run. 
  10. Set yourself attainable targets and keep re-addressing those targets! Whether it be to run for 1 mile without stopping or to run your first 5k or even run a Marathon. Set yourself goals and work towards them and don’t let any little obstacles get in your way. 

In summary, if you want it enough you can do it! Move that arse and get Porky Plodding! There are quite a few of us other there and I for one have had constant battles with my weight and I’m still probably 3 stone overweight now, but I’ve run 7 Marathons and nobody can take that away from me! 

Running isn’t about weight it’s about how it makes you feel and what it brings to your life! Weight loss is just a nice little side effect! 

So, put🖕to the haters, put on those Running trainers and get out there and 🏃 and be proud to be a Porky Plodder! (NOTE:- Porky Plodders is not an actual Running Club……….YET! But we do have a logo! Haha!)

fullsizerender

Share your own story on Instagram with the hashtag #porkyplodders

Follow my story on Instagram @tronbarber

Leave a comment