Accountability · lifestyle · Marathon · Running · Running · weightloss

Find your “only”

Am I a runner? It’s a question many of us will ask ourselves at some point, but should the pace that someone runs at define whether they are considered a runner or not? I have read that there is technically a difference and that jogging has been defined as “running at speeds of less than 6 mph”. But it’s still running right? Even the definition has the word running in it! 


If you apply the 6mph definition then most of my runs I am in both categories during the same run as I flex between Jogging and Running quite often (my slow pace is around 10 min miles when training for a Sub 4 Marathon). But why does a definition need to be made? Saying to someone that they aren’t a runner unless they are banging out 7 min miles is always an issue I have had with some people. To put someone down by saying, “oh no you are just jogging, not running” is unnecessary and demotivating but it does happen. 

There is an element of exclusivity around this that puts the slower runners off running and puts that barrier up. Actually in some cases confirming the doubts that they are “not a runner” and consigning someone to another evening on the couch. 

Now don’t get me wrong, the majority of the Running Community are amazing and I use the example of two fantastic Athletes; Matt Rees (@thewelshrunner) and Gemma Hockett (@gemma_hockett) who are both banging out amazing times yet have always got time to encourage and support other runners, regardless of the pace they are running. Why? Because a mile is still a mile whatever pace you are running, so just run happy! 

The Winter 10k was a perfect example of running happy, probably one of my favourite ever runs and ran it with our @run_rogue crew! We just ran happy and it was AWESOME! Didn’t care about pace, just enjoyed it! 


There are however a small percentage of runners that don’t consider the slower runners as “runners” and that makes me sad that they have to categorise themselves in a way that makes them feel superior. This is also relevant in relation to body stereotypes (which I want to cover in more detail in a dedicated blog) and as an overweight runner I see this firsthand. 

 While at my LiRF course the other week I must admit I felt self conscious about my weight and looking around I was the fattest by a long way and there were a few old school runners who looked down at me and asked me if I ran? I was at a Leadership in Running Fitness course in my running kit yet this tool was questioning if I was actually a runner? Annoyingly I replied “yeah mate, just in training for my 8th Marathon in April” so still doubting me he asked “what sort of pace are you doing? About 5 or 6 hours?” Why would he assume that? And why did that piss me off so much? Anyway I came back with “my PB is 04:00:49, how about yourself” and delightfully his PB was 04:10 😂😂😂 – So the moral of the story, never judge a book by its cover. He probably regrets it now. The guy was ridiculous anyway and told me that social media was disgusting to people of his generation! Anyway that’s enough time spent on this bloke….

So, while I was running, sorry “Jogging” the other night (I was slower than 6pmh!!!) I started thinking about what I say about my own runs on social media and started looking at the words I use or have used, like I’m not good enough or feel I need to justify my pace or distance to the world by saying “only 5 miles” or “only 9 min miles but that is fast for me”. When I looked at other people’s posts I found that so many people were posting in a similar way and although different words were used, the general theme was people feeling inferior and justifying their pace and distance with words like “only”.


Although it is not easy to do, we need to accept that “Only” is relative to you alone and you need to find, define and continue residing your “ONLY”. The challenge is to realise that being the best YOU that you can be is all anyone can ever ask of you. 

We can all sit there comparing ourselves to other people but what does that achieve? The media perception of what a “runner” should look like is plastered all over advertising campaigns and you will never will see a chubby runner fronting an advertising campaign for one of the big brands (my Moobs aka Man Boobs don’t really work with Running vests I find 😂). However, some of the runners out there who inspire me the most aren’t your conventional athletes. 

I use my cousin Jo as an example. She completed a Couch to 5k programme and we were all so proud of how hard she worked on it. She was absolutely buzzing as she built up from being able to run 400m without stopping to being able to compete a 5k in 35 mins without stopping. What an achievement! But I remember Jo saying to me during her training things like “oh this must seem silly to you as you run marathons”. Yes I have run Marathons, but as a runner I know how hard it is to get out of that door and run at all! Jo said it’s “only” 5k but that 5k was enormous in comparison to the 0k she was able to do at the start. 

This shows how important it is to realise that “only” is also relative in terms of your own personal journey and can move and flex as you will throughout your life. Your goals can change like when you return from injury or illness. Rushing yourself or competing with 10 years ago you. 

So with all this in mind, I questioned whether you should add your pace when posting? Yes! Yes you should! Share your pace, your distance, your feelings and don’t be embarrassed that you are too fast or too slow, just realise it’s all relative to you and be happy. 

Being the best YOU that you can be is all anyone can ask, so run happy and find your “only” 

Much Love ❤️ 

2 thoughts on “Find your “only”

  1. Brilliant post – I used to compare myself with others all the time and I got so demotivated by it last year. It is all relative and should only compare against our own improvement!

    Like

Leave a comment